Slide 1 - Donate
Slide 1 - TheVision2023 Outcomes Report
Slide 2 - Celebrating 30 Years


Share this:

Scholarship Night Blog Collage


WARREN, MI, May 20, 2014 – 23 students from Detroit’s Cass Technical High School, Harper Woods High School, Madison High School, Pontiac Academy for Excellence, and Warren’s Community High School and Warren Mott High School were awarded scholarships totaling $30,000 for continuing education based on essays submitted to and interviews conducted by business and community leaders at the June 9, 2014 Winning Futures Awards celebration.

Also at this event, six special individuals were honored with the Winning Futures Mentor of the Year Award in recognition of their voluntary contributions as mentors for tri-county area students. Marilyn Haley, Richard King, Dominic LaRosa, Judy Locher and Daniel Schafer were also honored as the Founding Educators for Winning Futures. Finally, Elite Success Partners received the Partner of the Year Award to honor their strong program support and assistance in recruiting mentors.

This is the 20th consecutive year that non-profit school-based mentoring program Winning Futures has presented these awards. The annual event brings together over 300 students, educators, mentors and program sponsors. All of these community partners have made it possible for Winning Futures to impact over 30,000 students and award $1.7 million in scholarships since its founding in 1994. 

The Winning Futures Mentor of the Year Award is presented to volunteers from the programs’ multiple mentoring sites to honor their commitment to mentoring and the difference they make in the lives of those they mentor. As mentors, they are helping students set goals, reach their potential, and discover their strengths. They also encourage academic achievement, career aspirations, and positive choices.

The 2014 Winning Futures Mentors of the Year are:

  • Heidi Beechie, Systems & Components Engineer, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles –Pontiac Academy for Excellence
  • Lee Shelby, Facilities Manager, SRG Global- Harper Woods High School
  • Lesley Gale, Associate Department Chair, Davenport University – Madison High School
  • Jeffrey Lehnertz, Vice President, Huttenlocher Group – Warren Mott High School
  • Marcia Beck, Owner, Colorscapes – Cass Technical High School
  • Brendan Brosnan, Sergeant Emergency Manager, City of Warren – Community High School

“These six individuals have made a powerful, positive impact on young people through their role as mentors,” said Ken Elkins, Marketing and Program Director. “We are proud to honor them for their on-going dedication to volunteerism and making a stronger community.”

The Winning Futures Awards are sponsored by The Chrysler Foundation, Hamilton Chevrolet ,Extra Credit Union and Lusk and Albertson. It was held on June 9, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. at Emagine Theatre in Royal Oak. Please visit or call 586-294-8449 for more information.

To view our 20th Anniversary Video click here: