Slide 2 - Donate
Slide 3 - TheVision

$29,000 in Scholarships Granted at our 23rd Annual Awards Celebration

Share this:

winning futures, networking event, mentoring event, mentor, warren mentor organization


On Monday, June 12, 2017, nearly 200 people joined us as we honored students and mentors of our partnering schools at our 23rd annual award celebration sponsored by Lear Corporation, EOS Worldwide, Extra Credit Union, and Lusk Albertson. Since our founding in 1994, we have impacted over 46,000 students and awarded $1.8 million in scholarships. This year scholarship funds were given to 19 students from Canton High School, Cass Technical High School, Community High School, Cornerstone Health + Technology High School, Madison High School, Warren Mott High School, and Western International High School totaling $29,000 for continuing education. The finalists were chosen based on essays submitted and interviews conducted by business and community leaders.

Underclassman were recognized with Luminary Awards at Harper Woods High School and Pontiac Academy for Excellence for having perfect attendance, accomplishing academic goals, and having a positive attitude during the program year.

Mike Fitzpatrick, Vice President of Fitzpatrick Manufacturing, was honored for his 20th anniversary as a Winning Futures mentor and presented with the 2017 Sam Cupp Impact Award. Since 1997 Mike has mentored over 100 students, changing the path of his mentees’ lives and empowering them to reach their goals.

The Winning Futures Mentor of the Year Award was presented to one volunteer from each of our partnering schools to honor their commitment to mentoring and the difference they have made in their mentees’ lives.

The 2017 Winning Futures Mentors’ of the Year are:

James Caldwell, Compassionate Caregiving, Cornerstone Health + Technology High School
William Hamilton, DTE Energy, Cass Technical High School
Gavin Haque, Red-e Set Grow, Community High School
Lee Ellen Kerr, Dow Automotive, Pontiac Academy for Excellence
Todd Ledingham, General Motors, Harper Woods High School
Tori Mazur, General Motors, Madison High School
Jermel Ray, General Motors, Warren Mott High School

“These seven individuals’ commitment to empowering young people to live purposeful and passionate lives is why we honor them,” said Ken Elkins, COO of Winning Futures. “They have made a powerful impact on the youth they’ve served.”

Thank you to everyone who attended our 23rd annual awards celebrating another successful year.
View pictures from the event here.